Le Tour de Langkawi is a multiple stage bicycle race held in Malaysia conceived by Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad, with the objective of putting Malaysia on the world sporting and tourism map. Held since the 1996, the race usually begins in Langkawi and includes major landmarks such as Genting Highlands and Dataran Merdeka. This year’s race will take place from the 6th of April to the 13th of April for its 24th edition.

Because of the reputation it holds, the race regularly attracts top teams from the World Tour as well as other continental and national teams from Europe and Asia. There were 132 participants from 22 teams from 29 countries all over the world, with many representing Australia. 12 of our countrymen also took part in the race. 


A car bearing the red jersey of Resorts World Genting

Genting Malaysia Berhad sponsored RM1 million in cash and kind, having being the sponsor for 18 previous editions of Le Tour de Langkawi. So far, Genting has provided RM13 million to make the international cycling event a success.

Resorts World Genting also played host of the Stage Four of the race also known as the Queen stage. Genting Malaysia Berhad will also sponsor LTdL for three years from 2019 to 2021.

On 9th April 2019, the participants raced up the 1,865m slope. Team Sapura Cycling's Benjamin Dyball put himself in a commanding position for the overall title in the Petronas Le Tour de Langkawi 2019 after winning the queen stage at the summit of Genting Highlands today.


Dyball at the finish line


Participants finishing the final lap of the race


A Malaysian participant giving his all for the race


Keegan Swirbul from the USA who placed third

After finishing third overall in last year's edition, the 29-year old crossed the finish line after launching a solo attack, leaving Interpro's Hernan Aguirre of Colombia and Floyd's Racing's Keegan Swirbul of the United States, two kilometres from the finish. He recorded a time of 3 hours 22 minutes and 2 seconds. 


There were supporters cheering on the cyclists at different spots along the route including Chin Swee Temple and at the finishing line at the peak of Genting Highlands.


Winners of Stage Four from left: Hernan Aguirre of Colombia, Benjamin Dyball of Australia and Keegan Swirbul of the United States. 

Dyball finished 23 seconds ahead of Aguirre to establish a lead that sees him end a 24-year overall victory drought for Australia.

The fifth stage on Wednesday will see riders covering a total distance of 200.1km from Tanjung Malim to Taiping.

Facebook comments: